Skip to Main Content

Basic Science Departments

  • Cellular Biology and Pharmacology

    Topics researched by the department of cellular biology and pharmacology include but are not limited to:

    • Development of Medical Education Models and Implementation
    • Discovery of Arsenic Detoxification Genes and Biochemical and Structural Analysis of their Gene Products
    • Development of Commercial Arsenic Biosensors and Methods for Arsenic Bioremediation

    Name

    Contact Information

    Gagani Athauda, MD

    Research Interest(s): Models of Medical Education/Pathways in Pharmacology and Pharmacogenetics

    gathauda@fiu.edu
    305-348-1474

    Jenny Fortun, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Medical Education/Studies in Neuroscience

    jfortun@fiu.edu

    Saby Moulik, PhD

    Research Interest: Medical Education

    smoulik@fiu.edu

    Venkadesh Nadar, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Studies in Structural Biology, Biochemistry, In-silico/computational docking/Drug Development

    vsarkara@fiu.edu
    305-348-1477

    Barbra Roller, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Developing Models of Medical Education

    rollerb@fiu.edu

    Barry P. Rosen, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Environmental Toxicology/Arsenic Biotransformation and Bioremediation/Gene Discovery to Structural Biochemistry

    brosen@fiu.edu
    305-348-0657

    Kunie Yoshingaga-Sakurai, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Arsenic Metabolism/Toxicology/Gene Regulation

    ksakurai@fiu.edu
    305-348-1479

    Masafumi Yoshinaga, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Environmental Toxicology and Microbiology/Arsenic Detoxification and Arsenic-based Antibiotics and Herbicides

    myoshina@fiu.edu
    305-348-1489

  • Human Molecular Genetics

    Current topics researched by the department of human molecular genetics include but are not limited to:

    • Pathogenesis and Novel Treatments Associated with Fibrosis
    • Molecular Genetics of Cancer, Metabolic Disorders, Male Infertility and Cardiovascular Disease
    • Novel Genomic Approaches and Antibiotics of the Microbiome

    Name

    Contact Information

    Alexander Agoulnik, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Pathogenesis and Drug discovery Associated with Fibrosis and Cancer

    aagoulni@fiu.edu
    305-348-1483

    Irina Agoulnik, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Pathogenesis of Breast, Ovarian, and Prostate Cancer

    iagoulni@fiu.edu
    305-348-1475

    Zuanel Diaz, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Development of Cancer Biomarkers/Manage the Biospecimen Repository Facility at BH-MCI

    zuaneld@baptisthealth.net
    305-491-8930

    Wenrui Duan, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Mechanisms of Cancer/Development of Cancer Biomarkers

    wduan@fiu.edu
    305-348-9135

    Kalai Mathee, MPH, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Molecular Pathogenesis of Microbiome /Antimicrobial Resistance

    matheek@fiu.edu
    305-348-0628

    Hooi Hooi Ng, PhD

    Research Interest: Vascular Biology

    hoong@fiu.edu

    Joe Leigh Simpson, MD

    Research Interest(s): Molecular Genetics of Reproductive Disorders/Prenatal Genetics and Birth Defects

    simpsonj@fiu.edu
    305-348-0616

    Tracey Weiler, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Strategies of Scientific Education/Population Genetics/Consumer Genetics

    tweiler@fiu.edu
    305-348-4993

  • Immunology and Nanomedicine

    Current topics researched by the department of immunology and nano-medicine include but are not limited to:

    • Immunopathogenesis of lung disease
    • Developing nanocarrier drug delivery systems
    • Mechanism of immunopathogenesis and neuropathogenesis of HIV-1 infection and substance abuse

    Name

    Contact Information

    Marisela Agudelo, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Alcohol Abuse/Dendritic Cell Function

    magudelo@fiu.edu

    305-348-6503

    Venkata Atluri, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Neuropathogenesis of HIV Infection in Substance Abuse/Novel Treatments of Alzheimer's Disease

    vatluri@fiu.edu

    305-348-6020

    Hitendra Chand, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Pathogenesis of Lung Disease in HIV Infection and Substance Abuse/Nanotechnology to Treat Lung Disease

    hchand@fiu.edu

    305-348-1472

    Nazira El-Hage, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Mechanisms of Inflammation & Autophagy in HIV, Zika Virus & Neurodegeneration/Development of Nano-therapeutics in Addiction & Substance abuse

    nelhage@fiu.edu
    305-348-4346

    Nagesh Kolishetti, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Development of Nanomedicine in HIV and Cancer

    nkolishe@fiu.edu
    305-348-4857

    Madhavan Nair, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Immunological Mechanisms of Substance Abuse, HIV Infection/Development of Nano-technologies

    nairm@fiu.edu
    305-348-1493

    Andrea Raymond, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Role of Extracellular Vesicles in Substance Abuse and HIV Neuropathogenesis

    adraymon@fiu.edu
    305-348-1490

    Myosotys Rodriguez Martinez, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Mechanisms of Autophagy in HIV-Neurodegenerative Disease

    myrodrig@fiu.edu
    305-348-4524

    Madepalli K Lakshmana, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Pathogenesis of Alzheimer’s Disease and Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)

    mlakshmana@fiu.edu
    305-348-7656

    Arti Vashist, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Development of Novel Nanomedicine/Drug Delivery and Imaging Systems

    avashist@fiu.edu
    305-348-7438

    Hoshang Unwalla, PhD

    Research Interest(s): Pathogenesis of Lung Cancer and HIV-related Diseases on the Lung

    hunwalla@fiu.edu
    305-348-3442

Translational Medicine

  • Translational Glycobiology Institute

    Name

    Contact

    Charles J. Dimitroff, PhD
    Director, Translational Glycobiology Institute at FIU

    Research Interest(s): Glycobiology of Cancer/Immunology

    cdimitroff@fiu.edu
    305-348-9069

    Robert Sackstein, MD, PhD
    Dean, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

    Research Interest(s): Glycobiology of Cancer/Regenerative Medicine

    sackstein@fiu.edu

    Karen Abbott, PhD
    Associate Professor

    Research Interest(s): Glycobiology of Cancer/Cancer therapeutics

    kabbott@fiu.edu

    Kevin Brown Chandler, PhD
    Assistant Professor, Department of Translational Medicine

    Research Interest(s): Glycobiology of Cancer, including Oral and Head & Neck Cancer

    kchandle@fiu.edu

    Joong Ho Moon, PhD
    Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Research Interest(s): Nanoparticles/Cancer Therapy

    jmoon@fiu.edu
    305-348-1368

    Anthony J. McGoron, PhD
    Dean, College of Engineering and Computing

    Research Interest(s): Nanoparticles/Cancer Diagnostics and Treatment

    mcgorona@fiu.edu
    305-348-1352

    Lidia Kos, PhD
    Associate Dean, University Graduate School

    Research Interest(s): Melanoma Development/Metastatic

    kosl@fiu.edu
    305-348-2135

    Robert J. Poppiti, Jr., MD
    Professor and Founding Chair, Department of Pathology

    Research Interest(s): Experimental Pathology

    Robert.Poppiti@msmc.com

    Guenther Koehne, MD, PhD
    Deputy Director and Chief of Blood & Marrow Transplant

    Research Interest(s): Bone Marrow Transplant/ Adoptive Immunotherapy

    GuentherK@baptisthealth.net
    786-527-8338

    Gregory A. Hudalla, PhD
    Associate Professor

    Research Interest(s): Biomaterials and Therapeutic

    ghudalla@bme.ufl.edu
    352-273-9326

    Lianchun Wang, MD
    Professor

    Research Interest(s): Glycobiology of Cancer/Immunology

    lianchunw@health.usf.edu

  • Internal Medicine

    Name

    Contact

    Amalia Landa-Galindez, MD
    Chief of the Division of Internal Medicine

    alandaga@fiu.edu
    305-348-2180

    Dollie Green, MD
    Associate Professor

    dogreen@fiu.edu
    305-348-7921

    Rebecca Toonkel, MD
    Associate Professor

    Research Interest(s): Medical Education Research

    rtoonkel@fiu.edu
    305-348-4567

  • Medical and Population Health Sciences Research

    Name

    Contact

    Juan Manuel Lozano Leon, MD
    Chief of the Division of Medical and Population Health Sciences Education and Research

    jlozanol@fiu.edu
    305-348-6063

    Juan Gabriel Ruiz Pelaez, MD
    Professor

    jruizpel@fiu.edu
    305-348-7640

    Noel Christopher Barengo MD, PhD, MPH
    Associate Professor

    nbarengo@fiu.edu
    305-348-4356

    Marcia Herdy Varella, MD, PhD, MHS
    Assistant Professor

    mvarella@fiu.edu
    305-348-7991

  • Neuroscience

    Name

    Contact

    Michael W. McDermott, MD
    Chief, Miami Neuroscience Institute

    305-271-6159

Clinical Departments

Contact the chair or vice-chair directly of the departments below for more information on their research opportunities.