Skip to Main Content

The Dean's Advisory Council serves as the principal advisory board for HWCOM. With their leadership and commitment, members of the advisory board assist the college in matters of strategic importance, including community outreach, partnerships, and resource development.

For additional information about becoming a College of Medicine Dean’s Advisory Council Board Member, please contact:

Jannel Garcia
Office: AHC2 683
Tel: 305-348-0695


Carmel J. Barrau, MD
UniHealth of South Florida, Inc.


Vice Chair:

Albert Tano, MD
Kidz Medical

Board Members:

Nelson Adams, MD
Nelson L. Adams, M.D. & Associates

Mr. Stewart Appelrouth, CPA
Appelrouth Farah & Co. Certified Public Accountants

Robert Berrin, Esq.
Capital Realty Services

Albert Dotson, Sr.

Bernie Fernandez, MD
Baptist Health Medical Group

Kim Green, DPS
Green Family Foundation

Ed Hibschman

Jeffrey Horstmyer, MD
Brain Center

Smith Joseph, DO
Mayor City of North Miami

Murray Levin
Saul and Theresa Esman Foundation

Orlando Lopez-Fernandez, MD
Preferred Care Partners

Marcos Perez
Leon Medical Centers

Joel S. Policzer, MD
VITAS Innovative Hospice Care

Noreen Sablotsky

Andrew B. Schultz
The Schultz Group

Alberto Sirven, MD
West Kendall OBGYN

Aaron Stauber
Rugby Realty

Herbert A. Wertheim, DO
Brain Power Inc.