Skip to Main Content

Deans Advisory Council

The Dean's Advisory Council serves as the principal advisory board for HWCOM. With their leadership and commitment, members of the advisory board assist the college in matters of strategic importance, including community outreach, partnerships, and resource development.


Albert Dotson, Sr.

Vice Chair:

Carmel J. Barrau, MD
UniHealth of South Florida, Inc.

Board Members: 

Nelson L. Adams, MD
Nelson L. Adams MD & Associates PA 

Stewart Appelrouth
Appelrouth Farah & Co., PA 

Sandy Batchelor
Batchelor Foundation, Inc. 

Robert Berrin, Esq.
Capital Realty Services

Noreen Gordon Sablotsky

Kim Greene, LCSW
Dr. John T. MacDonald Foundation

Rodolfo Hernandez, MD
Psychcare, LLC

Jeffrey Horstmyer, MD
Neuroscience Centers of Florida Foundation

S. Lawrence Kahn
Lowell Homes, Inc

Murray Levin, MD
Saul and Theresa Esman Foundation 

Orlando Lopez-Fernandez Jr., MD
Preferred Care Partners, Inc. 

Joel S. Policzer, MD
VITAS Innovative Hospice Care 

Annette Rosenfield, Esq.

Alberto Sirven, MD
West Kendall OBGYN 

Albert Tano, MD
Kidz Medical Services, Inc. 

Octavio A. Verdeja, CPA
Verdeja, De Armas & Trujillo, LLP 

Herbert A. Wertheim, OD, ScD
Brain Power, Inc


For additional information about becoming a College of Medicine Dean’s Advisory Council Board Member, please contact:

Jannel Garcia
Office: AHC2 683
Tel: 305-348-0695