Skip to Main Content

College of Medicine Founders


The College of Medicine Founders program supports student scholarships, recruitment, and the medical program in the college. By becoming a member, you can provide unrestricted funding that can be directed to HWCOM's most immediate and pressing needs.

College of Medicine Founders agree to commit $50,000 or more, which can be paid in annual installments over a period of up to 5 years, to the College of Medicine Education Fund.

Recognition and Benefits

Individuals and organizations who make commitments are recognized permanently as College of Medicine Founders and as members of the FIU Society of Founders.

College of Medicine Founders benefits include:

  • Access to the HWCOM Dean and HWCOM faculty and administrators through events, briefings, and other presentations exclusively for College of Medicine Founders.
  • Invitations to select FIU and HWCOM events, including those exclusively for founders.
  • Listing as a College of Medicine Founder in various College of Medicine and University publications and web sites.
  • Listing on a Wall of Honor installed in a prominent place in the building housing the College of Medicine.
  • A commemorative membership plaque.
  • The opportunity to participate in the development of an institution that plays an important role in providing high-quality health care for our community.  


For additional information about becoming a College of Medicine Founder, please contact:

Jannel Garcia
Office: AHC2 683
Tel: 305-348-0695

Founders Members

Nelson L. Adams, MD

Michael M. Adler

Richard Amundsen and Claudia Puig

Drs. Jose and Ada Armas

NMA /James Wilson Bridges Medical Society, Inc. and Association of Haitian Physicians Abroad, South Florida Chapter

Baptist Health South Florida

Carmel J. and Carmel P. Barrau

Beraja Medical Institute

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida, Inc.

Joseph L. Caruncho

Stephen Dresnick, MD

Emergency Room Medical Association at Mercy Hospital Miami, John Marshall, MD, Jorge Amaya, MD, and Xavier Anton, MD

Luis Guillermo Fernandez-Leal, MD

FIU Alumni Association

Dany Garcia

Julio Garcia, MD

Justo M. Garcia

Dr. Sergio Gonzalez-Arias and Maria Morales-Gonzalez

Guerra Family Foundation

Guillama, Inc.

Perla Tabares Hantman

The Hera Foundation

Rodolfo Hernandez, MD/Psychcare, LLC

Jeffrey L. Horstmyer, MD and Professor Tillie Fox

S. Lawrence Kahn III

Christopher G. Korge

R. Kirk Landon*

Donald E. Lefton

Orlando Lopez-Fernandez, MD

Modesto A. Maidique

Mercy Hospital Medical Staff

Tamara Meyerson

Jack J. Michel, MD, and Larkin Community Hospital

Dr. and Mrs. J. Patrick O'Leary

David R. Parker and Marian E. Davis

Manuel A. Penalver, MD, and Cristina Lopez-Penalver, MD

Phycare Medical Group, Inc.

Jose E. Portuondo, MD

Justo Luis and Sylvia Pozo  

PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

Dr. and Mrs. John A. Rock

Drs. Carolyn Runowicz and Sheldon H. Cherry

Steven Scott, MD

Drs. Joe Leigh Simpson and Sandra Carson

Jorge L. Sosa, MD

South Florida Medical Imaging, PA

Theodore Spak

Gregg Steinberg

Roberto Tuchman, MD, and Laurie Tuchman

Felipe Valls

The Valverde Family

VITAS Innovative Hospice Care

Herbert A. Wertheim, OD, ScD

Dr. Vijay Zaveri and Family

Isaac and Loly Zelcer

*Represents Founders in Memoriam