Skip to Main Content

Barratt, Diana M

Title: Clerkship Director for Neurology; and Associate Professor

Office: AHC-4 276

Phone: 305-348-7808


Department(s): Neuroscience

Dr. Diana Barratt, a board-certified neurologist, directs the Neurology Clerkship—a clinical course for third-year medical students. Since 2010, she has developed extensive curricula, innovative teaching tools, and outcome assessments that enhance neurology education. In addition to creating and publishing educational materials, her scholarship activities include mapping her educational innovations to the neurology residency milestones and entrustable professional activities, determining interrater reliability, establishing face validity, and demonstrating impact of her materials on the care of real patients. She recently received external funding from both the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and the American Academy of Neurology to conduct education research. Because of her commitment to neurology education, Dr. Barratt has been invited to serve on a number of prestigious national work groups and committees. She sees patients at Care Resource--a 501(c) (3) nonprofit organization and a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC).

Principal Investigator of Funded Pedagogic Research

  • American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Faculty Innovation in Education Award, “Disclosure of medical errors in stroke patients: Development of a simulation-based curriculum,” Award amount $100,000.00. January 2019-December 2020.
  • American Academy of Neurology Education Research Grant, “Disclosure of Medical Errors in Stroke Patients: A Randomized Controlled Trial in a Simulation Curriculum,” Grant amount $10,000.00. July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019.

Selected Awards                                   

  • American Academy of Neurology, Clerkship Director Teaching Award. May 2019.
  • Florida International University Top Scholar Award for Research and Creative Activities, Office of the Provost, April 2018.
  • American Academy of Neurology, Clerkship Director Innovation Award. April 2017. 
  • International Conference on Clinical Ethics Consultation, Best Poster Award, May 21, 2015.
  • American Academy of Neurology, A. B. Baker Section of Neurologic Educators, Teacher Recognition Award. April 20, 2015.
  • MedEdPORTAL Editor’s Choice special distinction for the EEG and Sleep Team-Based Learning module, March 25, 2015.

National Committees

  • Chair of the Ethics Section, American Academy of Neurology. 2019-2021.
  • Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Neurology Milestones Committee 2.0. The ACGME is the accrediting body for residency programs. The Neurology Milestones Committee develops frameworks for assessment of physician competency. 2018-2020.
  • Entrustable Professional Activities Work Group, American Academy of Neurology. Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) are a framework for assessing competence in medical students. 2017-2018.
  • Peer-reviewer for the American Academy of Neurology Annual Meeting--Research Methodology and Education abstracts and courses. 2018.